Perpetual Trophies

These trophies are awarded to racing yachts based on performance or that exemplify excellence in sportsmanship, racing, and presentation.  Some are long-standing perpetual trophies from the Boothbay Harbor Yacht Club.  Others are newly established for the Shipyard Cup Classics Challenge/BHYC Annual Regatta in 2021. Congratulations to all the winners and their contributions to the sport of sailing.

Shipyard Cup Classics Challenge Trophy

 2021 Marilee     Ken Colburn, NY 40

Awarded to the yacht in the Vintage or Classics Divisions with the Best Overall Performance

Nathaniel S Wilson Sailmaker Trophy

2021 Black Watch     Joe Robillard, 1938 Sparkman                                    & Stephens

Recognizes the yacht which demonstrates the preservation and continuation of classic yachting following the example of Nathaniel S. Wilson

The Herreshoff Marine Museum Golden Jubilee Trophy

2021 Besherte    Joshua Goldberg, Buzzards Bay 18

Awarded to any wooden Nathanael G. Herreshoff boat racing in any division with either a CRF or PHRF rating.  The winner may be determined based on performance along with subjective judgement based on the spirit of what the Jubilee celebration commemorates.

Apparition Trophy--Overall Winner PHRF/One Designs

2021 GHO2T     Carter White, J80

Awarded to the PHRF Racing Division Yacht or Modern One Design Class Yacht with the Best Overall Performance in the Boothbay Harbor Yacht Club's Annual Regatta

GMORA Maine Championship

2021 GHO2T     Carter White, J80

GMORA selects a club annually to host the Maine State Championship for the Best Performing PHRF or One Design. Boothbay Harbor was chosen to host in 2021.

Hard A Lee II Trophy

2021 Molar Express   Bobby Clarkson, Boothbay                                        Harbor One Design

Awarded to the Boothbay Harbor One Design with the Best Overall Performance in the Boothbay Harbor Yacht Club's Annual Regatta

Youth Team Trophy

2021 Molar Express  Bobby Clarkson & Kate Mason,                                   Boothbay Harbor One Design

Recognizes the Best Performing Youth team comprised of sailors 21 years of age or younger

Pea Pod Trophy

2021 Razzle     Anne Rand, J27

Recognizes a smaller keelboat which through the combination of performance, sportsmanship, and other action enhances the enjoyment of sailboat racing

Hank Spencer Memorial Award

2021 Two Dogs   Stott Carleton, Gulfstream 36

Recognizes the Best Overall Performance of the team with at least 30% of the crew under 18 years of age